This is how stupid Twitter is

Almost two months ago, a woman drove through one of the barriers up in Niagara Falls State Park & into the Niagara River & successfully committed suicide. It made the national news. If you want to read about it, here’s a link ~~~> https://buffalonews.com/news/local/woman-in-vehicle-stuck-at-brink-of-falls-died-by-drowning/article_e6fccfda-6cbc-11ec-a947-578139d363a7.html

Yesterday, I was on Twitter, chatting about driving on bad roads in New York State. The original tweet was about bad roads on Long Island. A few other voices chimed in about bad roads in their section of the state, Brooklyn, Utica, Rochester. I’ve lived in most of the major cities in the seven western counties & some of the upstate counties (including Rochester) but by far the worst roads I’ve driven on were in Niagara Falls, NY. Buffalo’s streets are pretty bad but Niagara Falls are definitely worse. Around here, it’s a common joke.

So without thinking, I quickly tweeted, “You should try driving in Niagara Falls” or something like that. I honestly can’t remember the exact wording at this point.

IMAGINE MY SURPRISE when I opened my inbox later in the day & found an email from Twitter saying that my account was SUSPENDED for “promoting” self-harm & suicide … YES, SUICIDE! simply by tweeting about driving in Niagara Falls … because everyone knows that there’s absolutely nothing more in Niagara Falls than a giant gorge with water pouring over it … there’s no city filled with houses & stores & restaurants & schools & people actually living there. Hell, I used to live in Niagara Falls!

I think I’m being suspended for a month or something. FOR TWEETING ABOUT BAD ROADS.

They also referred me to self-help places, in case I was the one who was actively suicidal. Gee, thanks. Like I can’t look up Crisis Services on my own.

THIS IS HOW UTTERLY STUPID SOCIAL MEDIA HAS BECOME.

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment