Saturday Caturday … on … what day is it?

Oh yeah, it’s Monday. I had foot surgery on Friday & I admit that I’m not the brightest bulb on the Yule tree but I didn’t know that I would be this out of it. I’ve had surgery before, but it was a full hysterectomy & that’s major surgery, not a surgery to correct the osteoarthritis that fully destroyed the cartilage in the big toe, connecting joint & bone structure of my right foot. The surgeon said I must have a really high threshold for pain, it was one of the worst cases she’s seen in a long time.

I slept through the weekend. I slept through the Bills dominating win over the (who?) Commanders yesterday & slept through most of the night, even though there was a major party on the street (on a Sunday? really?) that went past midnight.

I’m way behind with all my work. If you’re one of the people who are used to seeing my face on the “like” list of your blog posts or making some kind of comment, I apologize for my absence. I am so far behind that I’ve had to delete most of my emails & I know I’m missing a lot of good posts.

The cats have been pretty good about things, although they don’t understand why I’m sleeping all the time. Radar, of course is being his usual spoiled-brat self, demanding that I get up & feed him or give him treats or pet him or just try to figure out what the fuck he wants & I really don’t want to deal with any of that.

But generally, they’ve been a comfort. They sleep with me & it’s always nice to have cats cuddling up with you & purring when you’re not doing very well.

The dressings come off & the stitches come out in two weeks, but it’ll be a full six weeks of recovery. I guess there’s some PT involved (what a joy). But the surgeon assured me that the pain will be gone. & I was at the point where I was in pain ALL. THE. TIME. I couldn’t even walk a quarter-mile anymore, I could barely walk around the corner. & I used to walk for miles. Ya know, like that Who song, only with the verb changed. I can walk for miles & miles & miles & miles ….

8 Replies to “Saturday Caturday … on … what day is it?”

  1. Caturday is ALWAYS welcome, even on a Monday! I hope you heal well and quickly, my friend. I’m glad you have the comfort of the kitties … they always seem to sense when we need them, don’t they?

Leave a comment